Distinguished Advisor Award

The Distinguished Advisor award (formerly the Advising Excellence Award) seeks to recognize an advisor’s deep commitment to academic advising. Recipients of this award demonstrate both distinction through their work as a support, resource, and advocate for students and advisees, as well as their commitment to developing their personal advising practice and skills.

All faculty and staff advisors are eligible for this award.  

To nominate an advisor for the 2023-24 Distinguished Advisor Award, please complete this form by May 1, 2024. The recipient will be notified of their selection by July 1 and the award will be presented at the AARC's Academic Advisor Training and Orientation in August. 


Past Award Recipients

2022-23: Bill Bergman (Marketing)

2021-22: Courtney Hughes (Athletics)

2020-21: Monti Datta (Political Science)

2019-20: Bruce Matthews (Athletics)

2018-19: Tom Mullen (Journalism)

2017-18: Laura Thompson (Robins School of Business)

2016-17: Tracy Cassalia (Recreation & Wellness)

2015-16: Michael Spear (Journalism)

2014-15: Sylvia Gale (Bonner Center for Civic Engagement)

2013-14: April Hill (Biology)

2012-13: Scott Johnson (Rhetoric and Communication Studies)

2011-12: Rick Mayes (Health Studies)

2010-11: Stephen Long (Political Science)

2008-09: Katybeth Lee (Career Services)

2007-08: William “Bill” Myers (Chemistry)

2006-07: Robert Nicholson (Robins School of Business)